Reflecting on the concept of learning spaces

As a pre-service teacher, learning about the six learning spaces has had a major impact on my practice. Before my EDFD459 journey, I did not take much consideration into the various learning spaces that exist. I now acknowledge that these spaces are a key factor to building and fostering students’ success and appreciation for learning!

In addition, learning about these learning spaces has also inspired me to take these with me into my own classroom in the future. I believe incorporating these into the classroom is a great way to cater for a range of capabilities within the classroom. For instance, learning spaces such as beyond the classroom enables educators to take their students on an excursion or have an incursion. This learning space is known to help develop students’ social and emotional skills, while catering for their academic needs too!

For more information on the six learning spaces, what they are and how they can be incorporated into the classroom, click here!

Upon reflecting on my journey throughout EDFD459, the learning that has taken place and my own personal experiences, I found I am a strong believer in the future learning spaces entailing a much support and diversity. I believe the future learning spaces will also target the whole child, ensuring a healthy wellbeing along with the support of their learning and development.

limiting-childrens-technology-usage

Reference:

Team, N. (2016). Toddles and technology: the rise of print-sized digital natives. Retrieved from https://uk.norton.com/norton-blog/2016/02/toddlers_and_technol.html

Zoe. (2011). Making a playful learning space. Retrieved from http://captaincrafty.com/2011/09/making-a-playful-learning-space/

Leave a comment